Resources: Eagle Scout Resources

Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Boy Scouting.

    In 2013, 56,841 Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank.
    From 1912 to 2013, 2.3 million Boy Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank.
    Around 7 percent of all Boy Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank in 2013.
    In 2013, the average age of boys earning the Eagle Scout rank was 17 years of age.

Eagle Scout Rank

To earn the rank, a Boy Scout must:
Progress through the ranks in the following order:

  •     Tenderfoot
  •     Second Class
  •     First Class
  •     Star
  •     Life
  •     Eagle

    Earn 21 merit badges, including:
  •     First Aid
  •     Citizenship in the Community
  •     Citizenship in the Nation
  •     Citizenship in the World
  •     Communications
  •     Environmental Science
  •     Personal Fitness
  •     Camping
  •     Family Life
  •     Personal Management
  •     Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving
  •     Cycling, Hiking, or Swimming
  •     Serve six months in a troop leadership position.
  •     Plan, develop, and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.
  •     Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  •     Successfully complete an Eagle Scout board of review.

Boy Scouts with disabilities may qualify for the Eagle Scout rank by fulfilling alternative requirements as determined by their council.